Africa: Where should I fly?

14May10

Dear readers,

We’ve reached a crossroads. I am facing south, and Morocco awaits. It’s the northern tip of the African continent, and I need a game plan. I’ve got a path in mind, but please offer answers to these questions:

1. Where should I fly?

2. Which route should I follow?

See you in the sky,
Nick

4 Responses to “Africa: Where should I fly?”

  1. You have to stop in Morocco. I suggest Casablanca so you can catch a glimpse of Hassan II Mosqueand, the third largest mosque in the world.

    If your journey brings you all the way to South Africa, I strongly suggest you go the whole nine yards and find Mauritius–it’s an island East of Madagascar that was once (the one and only) home to the Dodo. They speak Mauritian Creole, French, and English on the island. It’s a pretty quirky place.

  2. The only thing I know about Mauritius is that it’s very often hosted the World’s Strongest Man competition. Just one more reason to go there. That’ll have to wait until continental Africa is conquered, though.

  3. 3 Ryan

    Ethiopia and Kenya are good bets for touristy fun stuff in the East. Ethiopia has its entire own ancient (and modern) culture, Kenya has tons of charismatic megafauna, and both have awesome landscapes and great people.

    If you are aiming more for the West then Nigeria and Ghana could be a lot of fun. I don’t know a lot about either country except that they were (and maybe still are) pretty dominant in popular African music in the past few decades.

    In the South you could do south Africa and then work your way up to Mozambique or Botswana. I don’t know much about these places.

    If you are staying around the Maghreb, then I’d just hit up Egypt for a while.

    Also, what the hell are you doing?!?!?! flying around the world?!?! huh?

  4. Only virtually, my friend.


Leave a Reply

