Freelancing: A lonely, lonely pursuit

16Jan09

Marsha at Write On! describes perfectly one of the primary challenges full-time freelancers face on a daily, weekly, and monthly basis:

Still, can I just say that writing from 8 a.m. to 4 p.m., Monday to Friday (and sometimes on the weekend) is really, REALLY hard? And that sometimes I would give anything to sit in an office and chat with my colleagues? Sure, rolling out of bed and into the next room sounds great. But part of me actually misses the ritual of getting dressed in my gear and joining the legions as they march to work.

When you’re employed by a corporation, you don’t feel that guilty slacking off sometimes. But when you’re employed by you, the constant tug of war between making excuses and chastising yourself can drive you mad. Even now as I’m writing this, I’m thinking about the chapter I should be editing.

After eight nine months (has it been that long?) of sitting in my apartment making calls and writing stories, occassionally venturing out of doors to pursue an interview, I can relate. Entirely.

One Response to “Freelancing: A lonely, lonely pursuit”

  1. Nice to hear from a fellow sufferer! 🙂


Leave a Reply

