Talking to Canadians

09Jan09

Yesterday, Liberal leader Michael Ignatieff spoke to a town hall meeting in Halifax about all kinds of things. But he offered this moment of reflection, which doubled as a warning to his detractors.

This quotation hit home more than most political soundbytes.

“I had four pots on the stove at any given time and sold intellectual products in the marketplace without any safety net,” he said. “I know about being a small, self-employed businessman.

“People think I spent my life in a sheltered, ivory tower, but for 16 years I was out there thinking, ‘I’m not sure what I’m living on in three months.’ “

People are already accusing Ignatieff of following in the ivory-tower footsteps of some of his predecessors, but he might yet be able to prove them wrong.

‘I’m not sure what I’m living on in three months.’

That’s potentially a powerful statement, and it’s one with which I can increasingly identify.

No Responses Yet to “Talking to Canadians”

  1. Leave a Comment

Leave a Reply

